Many are called…

Since the time I accepted Christ as my savior as a child, I had regularly heard sermons containing the scripture that says, “For many are called, but few are chosen.” I had also come across this scripture in Matthew myself (Matthew 20:16 & Matthew 22:14). Each time I heard it spoken of, the “many” was taught as including all man-kind. Stating that we all have the opportunity of salvation given to us during our lifetime. It is up to us whether or not we accept Christ. The “few” were those of us who had accepted Christ as our Savior. Reading these scriptures myself for years never gave reason for me to look at it from a different angle.

Then about a month ago, I was reading through Matthew and came across this scripture. Immediately, I sensed a clarity about the message Jesus was teaching. The “many” who are called are we, the Christians. Unfortunately, only a “few” ever desire/seek/learn the truth and don’t walk in the authority that Jesus called us to. Accepting Him isn’t enough. Acknowledging that you believe He is real isn’t enough. This may have been common knowledge, but to me, it was a profound revelation.

I now attend a nice sized church, in terms of membership. After pondering on the meaning of the scripture, I thought about the thousands of people that are members of the church and just how many would lift their eyes in hell because they are blinded to the truth. If not for the grace of God, it would have been me. I was under the impression that I was doing enough. I was always in church. I was involved in various ministries and served God. I had no idea how wrong I was. God had mercy on me and showed me just how much more I am responsible for.

Jesus was our example of how to live and there was nothing about my life that emulated His. I realized that I was busy in church out of ritual or perceived responsibility, but I wasn’t in it because I felt God had placed me there. I never dug deeper, that is, until I needed something. I didn’t take into account the words Jesus gave to us, “Take up your cross and follow me.” I realized that I truly had no idea who God was or what He wanted from me. I still don’t know the whole answer and doubt I ever will, but with continued prayer and study, He will reveal it to me.

My prayer is that God would remove the blinders from those who either can’t see or choose not to. God deserves so much more than our sometime-y commitment and greedy ways. Do you do what you do for God out of love, or obligation? Is there something you are looking for that is encouraging your current commitment to God? If God did not provide the thing(s) you are asking for, would you be angry and fall away? Do you expect certain blessings as a result of your obedience? When is the last time you denied yourself in order to please God?

Leave a Reply

